Top Ten Posts That Made Me a Loyalist (Sims 2 Blogs)

April 4, 2009 at 11:32 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 22 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

top-ten-gold

I’ve been following several Sims 2 blogs and I’m really struck by how talented several of these bloggers are. And I’m not just talking about exquisite picture-taking / photoshopping skills, but also mad-props writing talent. Many have shared creative ideas that I’ve borrowed to make my simming a better experience. And many I believe can go and publish their stories as graphic novels (if EA/Maxis would ever allow it) – they are that good.

Anyway, these are the top ten posts that really made me into a loyal follower of someone’s Sims 2 neighborhood. Now, I’m not claiming these are the best of the best (as there is no way I have read everyone’s blogs or posts AND I am sure I’ve missed a thousand good blogs out there), but these are the ones that first caught my attention (hooked & reeled me in) and have been following since.

How about you – do you have any favorites yourself? Please feel free to share any blogs/ posts that rocked your Sims 2 world too! I’d love to hear about them 🙂


(Note : These are in no particular order, so #1 just means the first that came to my mind.)

1. Tour – Pine Hollow Public School from Pine Hollow – A Sims 2 Neighborhood

I’d already been following Pine Hollow, but reading this post sealed the deal for me. I loved the look behind the scenes and the detailed explanations given on this custom-made school. With so much attention to detail given to the school, what more the rest of the hood?

2. the birds and the bees from Lakeside Heights

I call this the “ACR for Dummies” post and I will always thank Laura for this detailed explanation into the mysterious entity called ACR. And she doesn’t stop there, to go through her blog is to learn tips/ details for a much richer simming experience.

3. Pleasantly Strange – Chapter 1 from Pleasantly Strange

Now, there have probably been a hundred and one Strangetown stories, but I found this tale of Bella Goth trapped in the Beaker Mansion still fresh and instantly hooked me into following all the chapters that followed.

4. A dream from Tierra de Legado

This very descriptive post heralds a sinister threat in her neighborhood and I was hooked. Tierra de Lagato has elves, vampires and spunky kids aplenty and I’ve been following it faithfully since.

5. Chapter 5: Lawrence Sees the Beacon from Dragging Blue Lake

Dragging Blue Lake features an exceptional Pleasantview society governed strictly by the blogger’s personal caste system. I was confused half-out-my mind by the myriad of (unfamiliar) cast members, but I was hooked by this chapter. When Lawrence met Macaulay, I also felt the chemistry and I wanted to find out what happened NEXT.

6. Specter Round 1 from When Worlds Collide – a Mega Hood Story

It’s a pity that the blogger hasn’t been updating her Mega hood lately. I read her chapter on Olive Specter and thought – someone who can give batshit crazy Olive Specter a heart and soul deserves her other chapters to be read (and shared).

7. Strangetown: Chapter Fourteen from Strangetown, here we come

There’s a reason why Strange tomato’s photobucket bandwidth is always exceeded – too many fans! This chapter features riveting writing and edge-on-your-seat suspense. I honestly believe the pictures are unnecessary at this point. I try very hard not to let Strange tomato’s view of Strangetown color my own Strangetown, but it’s very hard.

8. Chapter Twenty-Four {Karrick’s Journey} from Ravensworth

Ravensworth features a plucky heroine called Kaylee and her to-die-for-hero husband Ty. But I somehow fell in love with Phoenix’s band of aliens (called R’ouglians) and I can’t wait for future chapters featuring Karrick.

9. Spinning from The Shmakova Legacy

I took one look at the pictures and went – how on earth does she get these gorgeous shots? The blogger’s writing style is smooth and easy to follow too. But to be perfectly honest – I took a look at her Lemur Island postcard and I wanted to live there too. Reading about her Joe is me vicariously living in her oh-so-picturesque hood.

10. Prologue from Shadows and Blood

Talk about a story of epic proportions. Just her prologue spans centuries, and what can I say, I’m a sucker for vampires. The blogger is trigger happy with her screenshots (I think she has a hundred or so per chapter), but I can’t complain since she always takes good ones.

Now I realize that a Top Ten is too short, this really should be a Top Twenty – what about the new neighborhoods I’m following? Ha ha – I apologize in advance to the other blogs that slipped my mind. Do you have a top ten list too? If yes, please share with me (and us).


If you enjoyed this post, get free updates by RSS Or by Email

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. While I can’t list a specific chapter like you did arcadata I can list my top ten stories!:) In no particular order:

    100 Days of Sorrow One of the first Sims stories I ever read. I still get excited when she posts! The dialogue is always crisp and mesmerizing.

    The Cutler Legacy Another great one and one of the first I started following. Just the emotion and the detail she puts into her story is amazing!

    Electorate I usually don’t like this format but the story is way too engaging to pass up. Shots and sets are always gorgeous and the writing is well paced.

    The Kingdom of Naroni The attention to detail is amazing. I love downloading CC but to have to look for CC in one particular time period? WOW!! Van makes you really care about the characters as well.

    Dragging Blue Lake Pen has her own language and caste system going on here. At times I still get confused because I’m not familiar with the back story of Maxis Sims but this is a strange and twisted tail that I keep stalking!

    Afterland It has werewolves! Need I say more? Seriously, her shots are always stunning and her writing leaves you on the edge of your seat trying to out guess the characters as well as her.

    Dreams Made of Glass is a twisted tale. Also sequel to Mary in the Mirror! I keep trying to catch up but she’s super fast with her updates! A great story!

    Love the Bermuda Who doesn’t love the tale of a cross dressing man? It’s hysterical and sweet, sad and funny, confusing and eye opening all at the same time.

    Sim State of course! LOL!! I had to start at the beginning and work my way up. I still get confused sometimes because, like I said, I don’t know Maxis Sims, but I love the format of your blog. Almost makes me want to start this challenge but…not so much!:P

    The Alliance of course! Did you really think I was going to leave out my girls?! There’s A LOT of talent over there and many, many different genres of stories! Some have been going on for YEARS!! Check it out!

    There’s probably a ton more that I’m forgetting but these are the ones I frequent the most often!

    • Hey Arcadata could you fix the link for Love the Bermuda for me? I’m guessing it needs closing! Thanks!:D

      • Done!

        Thanks for sharing your list, Phoenix – you’ve mentioned plenty of blogs I’ve never heard of (that I’ll be checking out!)

        • No worries! I enjoy sharing stories that I read!

          And thanks for the mention as well! I meant to add that last night! LOL! And like you with Lothere I just don’t know if I can read it all since I’m so far behind! 😦

  2. Thank you for the mention. ^__^ I actually look at your links very often to see what you’re reading. You have very good taste, so I’m rather honored to make your list and to have you as a reader.

    My offerings to you:

    Maud is defeated from The Kingdom of Lothere is the one that sealed my doom. Lothere has been called the War and Peace of Sim stories, and it is so true. This writer is not writing a sim story, she is writing an actual story and then using sims to illustrate it. Her story spans years. She’ll introduce an event and then wait a few years for it to come boomeranging back. One important and infamous storyline was probably over TWO years in the making. An event happened, and then two years in real time (15 years in the kingdom time) the event comes back. How does she do it? Absolute writing magic.

    World Apart is also awesome. Unfortunately, she left the original Worlds apart story like two years ago. I started reading it before I realized how old it was, but she has another story going, “The Monster and the Maiden” which updates slowly.

    And my last offering is Chapter 4 over at Seasons of Change. I think Saoz is a wonderful writer. She has completely changed my look on the romance novel. There is something that is simply sinfully good about reading her stuff. It’s just really fun to read.

    I sure hope that these links all work. ^^;

    • Hey, thanks for sharing those links. I’ll be sure to check them out too!

  3. I just saw this and … awww! The Specter story was one I liked as well, and I am the one who wrote it. I have big plans for Nervous (and his mother, even though she is dead) when I get back to him.

    It’s a pity that the blogger hasn’t been updating her Mega hood lately.

    I did update Uni back in Feb and am plotting Bluewater now. One of my favorite sims lives there. RL has been really crazy lately, though, and when I read your post I realized “start Bluewater blogging” has been on a Post-It on my computer desk for over a month! Eeep!

    • Hey, DebC! Glad to hear you’ll be updating soon! 🙂

  4. I have to second the comment about The Kingdom of Lothere. I spent the better part of 3 days reading it from the beginning when I first came across it – I’m hooked! That was a couple years ago now, it would probably take more than a week of nothing but reading to catch up now, but oh, so worth it.

    • Welcome Kimberly! Thanks for the feedback – yeah – I’ve had a peek at Kingdom of Lothere but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to read it all. I wish she had a summary post or something like that for new readers.

      If you’d like to suggest other great stories, please feel free to post away 🙂

      • She made mention in her “blog about the blog” that she might try putting major story lines in one place, which would be very helpful for people who want to start reading.

        When or if she does this, I’ll let you know so you can check it out.

        I’ve been reading it for almost a year now trying to catch up. My boyfriend keeps asking me what I’ll do when I actually catch up. XD

        • Thanks for that! Yup, let me know!
          Ha ha – we’re all playing the catch-up game – I’m amazed at how long some of these stories have been going on – it’s like, when will their ideas dry up? Hopefully never!

  5. Wow, thanks for putting one of my posts on your list! I’m very honored. Your blog looks very cool — I can see I have some poking around to do. 🙂

    • Hey thanks! Well, you already know what I think about yours 🙂

  6. Awww, arcadata, thank you! I’m honored to be on your list! Good picks! I read a lot of these blogs too 🙂

    • You’re welcome – I’m a big fan, as you know. 🙂

  7. Aw, thanks for putting me on the list! 🙂 I’m a big fan of your blog too, you do so much more with the Maxis families than I ever have (although I did have Dustin Broke marry my self-Sim’s daughter and he went on to have children and grandchildren). You really make the Maxis sims come alive! 🙂

    • Oh, thanks so much for the compliment {blushes}!
      It means a lot since I was inspired to start blogging from reading your blog in the first place!

  8. Strangetown Here We come is one of my favorites, too.

    I recently found Pleasently Strange myself and I’ve been enjoying this one, too. I get drawn to Strangetown stories since it’s my favorite ‘hood.

    Another favorite of mine is madam_ugly’s Peculiar.
    A lot of familiar faces in a whole different story and a whole different setting.

    • Welcome indigoleo! Would you mind sharing the link for “Peculiar” and thanks for adding your voice to the fray.

  9. You like me! You REALLY like me! *ahem* Sorry about that. LOL Thank you so much for including me in your list! I’m terribly flattered!

    I have to add The Fate of Pleasantview by Alexis. That link is to the “original” story, which he didn’t get to finish because, if I remember correctly, a computer malfunction. Right now he’s working on The Fate of Alchemy: The Donnavi Prophecy, which is pretty much The Fate of Pleasantview Redux but with a ton more detail. 🙂 I’ve been reading this series for years, and I really hope he finishes it (which he’s planning on doing – he’s hoping to continue the story with Sims 3 when it comes out).

    • Ha ha – well, you are the sim goddess! 🙂

      Thanks for that link. I’ve a bit of homework to check out those other stories that people have suggested to me 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

