A Change – It is Coming

April 20, 2009 at 4:22 pm | Posted in Grunt Family | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

General Buzz Grunt : Interrupted

“We have a problem, General.”

General Buzz had barely stepped off his army-assigned helicopter when he’d been met by one of his officers. Sighing inwardly, he turned around and faced the slender brunette who’d interrupted him.


“What is it, Commander?” General Buzz couldn’t help snapping out. He had never minded work matters encroaching on his home hours before, but after his mini-epiphany, the General had been looking forward to having a serious talk with his sons today. And of course – Nervous Subject.

“I … I have bad news, General. As you know, I’ve just recently cracked the code on the ship’s manifesto. We are definitely missing cargo – I’ve had the team perform an exhaustive search, and everything matches except for one item.” The Commander visibly hesitated.

The General waited, his impatience barely contained, one eyebrow raised. The commander was new to Strangetown and her past was something of a mystery. But no one could deny her talent – her rise among the military ranks was already being hailed as extraordinary, no doubt aided by her ability to decipher the encrypted manifesto that had been found on the crashed space ship.

“The missing item was identified as “Laganaphyllis simnovorii” seeds or seedlings. I took the liberty of contacting Pollination Tech #9, and according to him, it’s a little known very rare but very dangerous plant life. P.T. #9 was not clear on its origins but he is sure that it is not indigenous to Sim Earth or Enceladus.”

A tic had appeared on the General’s left temple. “And why would these seeds be missing from the inventory, Commander? Are any of the team members responsible for this breach?”

“We believe that someone else may have found the ship before our team arrived, sir.”

The Commander couldn’t help but flinch a little when the General let loose several choice oaths. “We have already launched an investigation looking into that.”

“So how dangerous is this Laga …?”

“Laganaphyllis simnovorii, sir … I don’t have the specifics, but P.T. #9 believes that the plant may be fatal – he is unsure as to how this is – if it is a poison or has some other effects. He is in contact with his superiors right now. But it is imperative that we find the missing item.”

General Buzz gazed back at his house – Buck, Ripp and Tank would have to fend for themselves tonight (yet again – his inner voice accused).

“Let’s head on back to base, Commander.” Turning on his heel, the General headed back to the helicopter without another glance back. Some things couldn’t be helped, and he was first and foremost a military man after all.

“Yes, sir.”

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha, that’s a great cameo of Bella Goth. It was one of those things that took a sec, but after the hint in the text that he didn’t know where she came from but she was good at cracking alien code…

    I’m glad you’re back. What a tiring experience.

    As for the boys, Tank is actually kinda cute. Especially with his planning here that surprises the hell out of Ripp.

    • Thank you! I was wondering if people would recognize her 🙂

  2. Dun dun dun. Now the military knows the seeds for the cow plant are missing. Not that I’d trust them with the seeds any more than I trust Loki. Bella makes her appearance! Pin that hair up, girl! You’re outta uniform!

    I like how the boys are working together to pay the family’s bills.

    • Hmmm – Interesting point. Bella isn’t a playable, but I may try to fix her hairstyle – it’s just that the hairstyle is so iconic for her …

  3. Ah, I wondered if that was Bella! 😀 I hope Ripp gets along better with this new Tank, who seems to be making an effort to show some concern for something other than himself. Now if we can just get Buzz to actually follow through with repairing his relationship with his kids and not get so focused on his job. Although with this new information he’s gotten it seems like that might not happen. 😦

    • Yes! I’m glad that people picked up on Bella 🙂

  4. Ohh!!! This was a great chapter!! Glad to see you up and running again!!

    I had a feeling that was Bella when I was looking at the back of her head but he confirmed it.

    Wow!! Tank really surprised me too! I don’t know what I would have done if I had been sitting there for that! Also, YA tank is kinda hot! haha!! It’s good to see them pulling together!

    Now…who has those cow plant seeds?!!!

    • Oh, thank you! I’m glad to be back too.

  5. That’s a really cool business idea for the Grunts!

    I have to wonder what’s got into Tank though. Is it just the financial crisis the family is in or is he softening a little towards his brothers?

    • Yeah, thanks! The boys did earn a fair amount of money in one day. I was pretty surprised!

  6. A nice chapter. I had been wondering about the Grunt boys since your last post. I was pleasantly surprised that they don’t appear to be the self-absorbed dickheads they are in my game, ha ha ha.
    And I’m very interested in this plot that’s emerging in Strangetown — P.T.9., a missing cow plant and death on Enceladus!

  7. Great chap. I would be happier to hear you say “Laganaphyllis simnovorii” and Tank acting like a mother? I would never have believed it, but the shots are hilarious. He’s obviously trying.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

